Hayle Rugby Football Club
Club Motto – SUAVITER IN MODO FORTITER IN RE
Gentle in Manner Forthright in Deed”
Hayle Rugby Club was originally formed in 1877 and is one of the oldest clubs in Cornwall. Prior to establishing itself at Memorial Park the Club played at Porters Field, Trevassack and then Bar View all grounds around Hayle and all were basically on agricultural fields. In those days there were no Clubhouses or showers everyone either changed in the hedge or at home.
Memorial Park was officially opened on Monday 22nd November 1948, the land was purchased for £3000 with a loan from the English Rugby Union for which 2 local companies stood guarantors, J&F Pool Ltd and Associated Octel.
The main pitch was originally in the opposite direction and the Clubhouse was a wooden structure with a central bar and changing rooms to each side, because of its colour it was fondly known by all as “Green Acres”. Many older/ex players will remember times never to be repeated in that iconic atmosphere.
In December 1968 the new Club House was built and since that time the ground and Club facilities have been developed to what they are today. We should all look back with pride at our history and the foresight of the committee in 1948 to purchase our site.
In 1974 the Mini Junior Section of the Club was formed and has proved to be a very successful and key element of the Club’s progress. It is currently one of the most prominent in Cornwall and will no doubt have many great players for our future.
Hayle RFC Club Kit Sponsors